The Nigerian Environmental Society (NES) at her 29th Annual General Meeting held in Edo State on 16th November 2019, elected new national officers into her National Executive Council, with former Vice President1, Dr. Dorothy Bassey (FNES) emerging as the new and first female National President of Nigeria’s foremost environmental body.

Other National Officers as elected are:

Prof. John Onwuteaka (FNES)                       –           National Vice President 1

Dr. Efegbidiki Lympson Okobia (FNES)          –           National Vice President 2

Dr. John Akpan Harry (MNES)                      –           National Secretary

Hajia Risikat Abimbola Akewula (MNES)    –           Asst. National Secretary

Pro. Confidence Nwachukwu (FNES)           –           Editor-in-Chief

Mr. Emmanuel Johnson (MNES)                    –           National Publicity Secretary

Mr. John Ekoko (FNES)                                 –           National Treasurer

Dr. Ado Bello (MNES)                                  –           Councilor

Mr. Adewale Jonathan Adeyemi (MNES)     –           Councilor

Dr. Leonard Mgbeahuruike (MNES)                –           Councilor

Dr. Ibitoroko George-Opuda (MNES)              –           National Auditor

TPL (Dr.) Akinrele Olusegun Olufemi (FNES) –           Financial Secretary

Barr. Loveday Abonemi (FNES)                      –           Legal Adviser